RSS

New Lens – Canon 50mm 1.4 USM

17 Jul

This week has its ups and its down. First day of the weekdays; Monday was horrible. I met in a small accident at my college car park after lunch. I was half way turning into a narrow lane, when a car from the opposite direction wanted to pass through. So, I gave way. Looked at my rear mirror and saw a Myvi waiting far behind. I revised for less than a metre. BANGG.. Hit the side of a Kenari’s bumper! Where the hell did he come from?? I thought there wasn’t enough room for any car to pass through my car. Whew.. =/

His soft plastic bumper was smashed at the left and a little dent at the top of the bumper. While, my car suffered scratches on the paintwork but no dents at all. Anyway, it was all my fault and I have compensated him for the damages. Now, I’m worried of hitting into something whenever I reverse.

Alright, lets put that aside. As you have known from my previous postings, I have talked about how the Canon 15-85mm suffer in low lights conditions. Now, the problem is behind me! My parents bought me a Canon 50mm F/1.4 USM yesterday! šŸ™‚ I like the lens straightaway. It’s a very fast lens and the image quality is good!

Build quality is good, solid build. Bokeh effect is very nice. The disadvantage of this lens is its USM auto focus system seems to be a little sluggish compared to the Canon 15-85mm. At F/1.4, the sharpness is soft even in the center.

I bought the lens at BB Plaza for RM 1,210. Shashinki.com is selling for RM1,339 after a discount.

Think Again!

Canon 50mm F/1.4 USM
F/2.8
1/50
ISO 250

New Persona elegant High-line!

Canon 50mm F/1.4 USM
F/2
1/640
ISO 100

Yesterday too, my brother collected his new Persona Elegance High-line! šŸ™‚

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 17, 2011 in pictures

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
