RSS

Putrajaya Night Marathon!

10 Feb

And again, I did it! Last Saturday night was the first ever night marathon that was held in Malaysia. The Night Marathon was held in the of Putrajaya.

I took part in the Half-Marathon category which is 21 km run. I reached Putrajaya really early, 2 hours before the run begin. When I reached, the organizers were still doing last-minute preparation for the night marathon event.

Putrajaya Night Marathon, 2010 - Half marathon route map

Putrajaya Night Marathon, 2010 - Half marathon route map (Map from Putrajaya Night Marathon Website)

At 8.30p.m, the half-marathon category started. The starting area was cramped with 3000 half-marathon runners. The pace of the runners were very fast, even faster than the Penang Bridge International Marathon (PBIM), Dis 2009. Their pace were fast as if they were only running for 10 km. We ran around PICC building and then along the Saujana Highway after crossing the Seri Suajana Bridge. The run along the Suajana Highway is undulating and very long. Worst of all, there wasn’t any nice view of Putrajaya city from there, that makes the run boring.

After running for a long stretch on the Suajana Highway, we turn off to Persiaran Utara, before running back towards Dataran Putrajaya, the start/ finish of the marathon.

I did a 2 hour 40 mins. for this half-marathon. Honestly, I am not satisfied with the time. The time was around the same as I took for the last PBIM half-marathon. I expected myself to finish the 21 km run within 2 hour 30 mins.

Starting from the last 6 km, I had leg cramps. I was forced to walk time to time to ease the pain. Other than that, it was very humid that night. The mileage signs placed every kilometer was indeed useful for me. It helps me track my progress as I run. The number of water stations were also sufficient.

It was indeed a great experience for me to run in a night marathon.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 10, 2010 in Outdoors

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
