RSS

Broga Hill and Mount Nuang

20 Jul

On Saturday, my family and I went to Broga Hill located near Negeri Sembilan border with another 2 friends. It was only an hour drive from K.L.

It was my second time up this scenic hill. The hike was very easy. You will probably need 1/2 hour to reach the top of the hill.

We went there to watch and photograph the sunrise.

Sadly, it was very hazy that day… We could not take any good panorama of the sunrise.

Broga PanoramaA panorama view of Broga Hill. Very scenic place…

After sunrise, we drove to the foot of Mount Nuang. A group from Agape Church (Seremban) had already started hiking that day at 6.00 in the morning.

We reached the foot and started hiking at about 9.15 a.m. I planned to create the fastest time to reach the peak among the hikers I knew.

Normally, it would take us about 4 hours+ to reach the peak of Mount Nuang. But that day, I would like to reach the peak in 3 hours and 30 minutes.

My younger brother and I started trekking at 9.15 a.m. We walked very fast through the famous ‘never ending, boring walk’. The boring walk was actually an unmaintained and badly damaged road that stretched for 5 kms. After trekking for 54 minutes, we reached the end of the ‘boring road and continued to trek for 18 minutes before reaching ‘Lolo Camp’.

I continued to hike, now alone (my younger brother could not follow with my pace), to Pacat Camp. The trail to Pacat camp was steep and a little slippery. After trekking for 49 minutes from Lolo Camp, I reached Pacat camp. It meant that I only took 2 hours and 2 minutes to reach Pacat camp from the car park and office of Mount Nuang. At Pacat, I met the first 2 person from the Agape group that started at 6 a.m.

I took a gulp of water and continue the trek up. While trekking, my legs were already feeling the strain..I had cramps time to time.. Half way from the false peak (bukit pengasih), I met Peter. Not long later, I passed Kg. KG was surprised to see me here so early.

At 3 hour and 1 minute from the foot of Mount Nuang, I reached Bukit Pengasih. Upon reaching, I met with Jason (the camel..haha) who had already reached the peak. He came down to help KG to carry Rachel’s bag. After reaching bukit pengasih, I decided not to go fast anymore. I took my time walking while taking photos. The reason why I did not want to complete my goal of reaching in 3 hour and 30 minutes was because the trail descents..I didn’t want to hurt my knees. Everyone can descent fast..you don’t need much strength to descent. No point.

I summited after walking for 1 hour from Bukit Pengasih. In total, I took 4 hours to reach the peak of Mount Nuang from the base.

Photos on Next Posts…

Mount Nuang Trip -Photo

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 20, 2009 in Outdoors, pictures

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Broga Hill and Mount Nuang

  1. Yakiyo

    August 2, 2009 at 11:25 am

    Just a wild guess, is the person in green T-shirt is your big brother?

     

Leave a Reply

 
